Cheese – A Connoiseur’s Guide to The World’s Best

I bought this book a few years ago and it is a great reference. It has beautiful photography and very nice descriptions of some amazing cheeses. When I went to the Cheese Boutique in Toronto I brought the book along. I explained to one of the staff that I was interested in trying a few of the cheeses that I had read about in the book. They did not carry all of the cheeses featured but they had several. For the ones they did not carry they were familiar enough to make recommendations of cheeses that were very similar. What a great way to experience some amazing cheese!

Now that I’ve identified a few more shops to visit I’ll see if I can try a few more from the book.

As a point of interest, the cheese I most enjoyed from my experiment at the Cheese Boutique was Roaring Forties Blue Cheese from Australia. This cheese is produced at King Island Dairy by cheesemaker Ueli Berger. I’ll explore this specific cheese deeper in a subsequent post. Let’s just say that one cheese alone made it worth the trip.

Here is the link to the book on Amazon.ca.

Cheese – A Connoiseur’s Guide to The World’s Best

3 comments on “Cheese – A Connoiseur’s Guide to The World’s Best

  1. Of course, if you’re at the Melting Pot for one of their delicious entr. When the Spuds are ready take them from the pan and drain them well, I usually dab them with kitchen paper at this point, but maybe I’m
    just fussy. You can place the pre-packaged cheese in a
    strong freezer bag, squeeze all the air out and plop directly into freezer.

  2. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, let alone the content!

  3. Trent says:

    You need to be a part of a contest for one of the finest sites
    on the web. I will recommend this blog!

Leave a comment