Rosenborg Castello Blue Cheese

I am a guy that enjoys cheese. It doesn’t have to be fancy, or artisan, although I’m Ok with those too!

I bought a small package of Rosenborg Blue Cheese at a Loblaws. The label looks familiar and you can probably find this cheese most anywhere. I’ve had it before.  Now that I’m blogging about cheese I am “tuned in”. What does that mean? It means I’m paying attention. I notice the color, the texture, the smell and the taste. Instead of a food it is a now a treat.

So I opened the package.

It was vacuum sealed. I’ve been reading about cheese storage (I’ll blog on this soon). The basic idea is that cheese is alive and needs to breathe. This cheese was sealed up tight. I guess that is intended to extend the shelf life but I wonder if that affects the taste. Would a piece of the same cheese, taken from the wheel, taste different than this store package? I don’t have a way to figure that out yet.

I had to put it on a cheese board and lay out a few Carr’s Table Water Crackers. I think if you are going to enjoy a cheese you just have to do this. Would you drink a nice wine from a plastic cup? You could, but it’s not the same as a nice wine glass. I don’t know why that is, but it is.

The taste test – It’s nice. The extra creamy style is noted as being the 4th strongest on a scale of 1 to 5. It is pleasant but certainly not strong. It is creamy. It melts in your mouth. It spreads on a cracker easily. I found it salty. To me this is pretty basic blue cheese. I expect that as I taste other blue cheeses, and do some further comparison, the differences will become more apparent. In summary this was good, good enough for guests but not a wow for me.

Taking it to the next level I explored the website for Rosenborg Castella. The web site was excellent. I was able to navigate to a page specific to the exact cheese I purchased. I was impressed with the claim that “In 1994, Rosenborg-Castello® Extra Creamy Blue was voted the world’s best from among 590 other cheeses.”

Rosenborg Castle

Even more interesting was information about the history of the Rosenborg name which is a reference to a famous Castle in Copenhagen that dates back to the early 17th century. Who knew eating some blue cheese from the supermarket would bring me to understand a piece of 17th century history in Denmark. That’s the beauty of a cheese adventure.

2 comments on “Rosenborg Castello Blue Cheese

  1. Jimmy Rosen says:

    I’m looking for a broker or distributor in the Houston, Texas area to purchase 50 cases a month of both Brie and Camembert, 12/4.4 oz. Can you help me?

    Jimmy Rosen
    281-740-6531 Cell
    713-802-2692 Office

    Thank you,

  2. teri spates says:

    I liked Rosenberg blue cheese – bought it at the superstore
    Then they replaced it with Castelo blue cheese
    Smae style and color on the package, but very different taste
    I bought 2or3 packages and wondered why I didn’t like it so much before I realized that it was a different brand altogether. Wtf?!!
    They totally changedifferent brands (no doubt one that they own) and counted on no one noticing the difference. I do not appreciate being manipulated like this, the replacement brand is not as good,O really don’t like it and have not bought it there since.
    Now I’m craving blue cheese again and will try to find it in another store.
    Shame on you Weston family. Your commercials are really phony

Leave a comment