Dalmatia Fig Spread is the Perfect Cheese Accompaniment

Dalmatia Fig Spread

Dalmatia Fig Spread

Dalmatia Fig Spread is currently my favourite cheese accompaniment. I first tried this spread just a few months ago. All I have to say is WOW … this stuff is amazing.

Dalmatia Fig spread comes from Croatia in the Mediterranean.

Croatia

Croatia

Dalmatia has a website that describes a variety of spreads that they produce. I have not had the chance to try any other of their products other than this “Original” fig spread. It appears that they have developed their product line based on the success of this original spread.

The Dalmatia web site describes the almost magical power of figs as follows:

The fig has played many roles in society, serving as food for training and as a medal for winners during the early Olympic Games. Through the centuries figs have been connected with the power of enlightenment and cleansing, and represented the symbols of peace, conciliation and prosperity. Outrageously rich Fig Spread captures the sweet concentrated flavor of Adriatic Figs. They are hand picked on the Dalmatian coast of Croatia, sun-dried and carefully cooked to create an unsurpassed flavour.

What does Dalmatia Fig spread taste like? Well it tastes like figs but even better. I have tried dried figs and Fig Newton cookies. Both of those fig experiences were nothing get excited about. However, Dalmatia fig spread takes figs to the next level. The flavour is sweet, figgy and robust. This fig spread is gooey, like a thick jelly. It has wonderful warm orangish / brownish translucency. When you put a little of this on top of some cheese it doesn’t mask the cheese.  You have to figure out exactly how much sweet you like and spread it appropriately. You can make it mild to wild depending on your cheese to fig ratio. I like about 20% fig to 80% cheese or 4:1 cheese to fig.

It is amazing how well the Dalmatia pairs with cheese. It seems like it was designed for this purpose. It can take a strong or edgy cheese and smooth it down just a notch. It gives a sweet balance to a salty cheese. I placed a small dollop of the Dalmatia Fig spread in the center of my Tete de Moine cheese carnations. It was the perfect match.

My wife and kids also like Dalmatia Fig Spread. It took me some prodding to get them to try it. They had a similar first taste experience as me … pleasantly surprised and an instant favourite. Whenever I bring out a new cheese my son now usually suggests “Let’s try this cheese with some of that yummy Fig Spread”.

If you have never tried the Dalmatia Fig Spread then put it on your cheese to-do list. I give Dalmatia Fig Spread 10 out of 10. I really like it a lot. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

4 comments on “Dalmatia Fig Spread is the Perfect Cheese Accompaniment

  1. Cristin says:

    I love Dalmatia spread, too! It really does have almost magical powers. I put it atop blue cheese shortbread bites that I often serve as an appetizer or bring as a party snack. Also, I know this does not pertain to this post, but: My next cheese-related get-together is definitely going to be a Cheese Jenga Party. What a hilarious idea!

  2. Sirana Gligora Paški Sir says:

    Try it with Paški Sir from the Island of Pag in Dalmatia, a match made in heaven.

  3. mz says:

    +1 on the Dalmatia. We enjoy it with Humbolt Fog (http://www.cypressgrovechevre.com/cheeses/ripened-cheeses/humboldt-fog.html).

    For something sort of different, try one of the soft cheeses with a sweet aged balsamic like this one http://www.shopweolive.com/products.php?product=We-Olive-Collection-Balsamic. I was quite surprised with the tasty combination.

  4. Since you like fig spread, and you like grilled cheese, you might want to try making a grilled cheese using a combination of goat cheese & fig spread, plus a little lemon zest, basil, and pepper. Highly recommended!

Leave a comment