DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese

DuVillage Le Triple Creme – Canada

DuVillage Triple Creme Cheese

DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese

I picked up DuVillage Le Triple Creme cheese at the St. Lawrence Market in Toronto. I was enticed to buy it as the price was marked down since the cheese was very near its “best before” date. I picked it up, pressed on the corner and smelled it. It wasn’t overly soft nor did it smell unpleasant. I surmised that it was not overly ripe and I bought it.

DuVillage Le Triple Cream is a cow’s milk cheese produced by DuVillage 1860 located in Warwick, Quebec, Canada. Warwick is located about half way between Montreal and Quebec City.

Warwick, Quebec

Warwick, Quebec

This cheese is well packaged. There is a lot of information on the box as well as inside. On the side of the package it is says “Discover when the taste is right for you. Details Inside”.

DuVillage Le Triple Cream Cheese side of the box

DuVillage Le Triple Cream Cheese – side of the box

Now that is a great teaser. But while I was standing in the market holding the box I wanted the information that was hidden inside. Since I ended up buying the cheese I can save you the frustration. This is what it says inside.

DuVillage Le Triple Cream Cheese info inside the box

DuVillage Le Triple Cream Cheese info inside the box

This triple creme goes through three phases during it’s ripening.

  • Young – 35 days or more before the “best before” date
  • Semi-Ripened – 15 to 35 days before the “best before” date
  • Fully Ripened – 0 to 15 days before the “best before” date

You get to decide which stage you prefer and buy the cheese dated accordingly. The “best before” date appears on the bottom of the box.

DuVillage Le Triple Cream Cheese bottom of package showing best before date

DuVillage Le Triple Cream Cheese bottom of package showing best before date

Unpacking this cheese involves a few steps.

DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese unwrapping

DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese unwrapping

The cardboard box protects the soft package inside.

DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese

DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese

Viola!

DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese unwrapped

DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese unwrapped

DuVillage Le Triple Creme is a surface ripened cheese. The rind is snowy white and covered with the penicillium mold that gives the cheese it’s character. Cutting the cheese in half reveals a buttery colored creamy white paste. The cheese that I had was fully ripened. It was shiny, soft and spreadable. If it had been younger then the paste likely would have been firmer, perhaps with a chalkier texture near the center.

DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese cut in half

DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese cut in half

What does DuVillage Le Triple Creme cheese taste like? It is a rich with a mild, buttery and creamy taste. The rind is edible and it is mild. The quality of this cheese is very good. It won first place in the Canadian Cheese Grand Prix in 2006 in the soft cheese category.

Were you wondering about that little 10,000 sticker on the outside of the package? That was a promotion for a contest with five prizes worth $10,000 each for a trip to the World’s Best Restaurant in Denmark. The coupon provided a web site address to enter: www.thewinningcheeses.ca. Unfortunately the contest was already closed to entry when I tried to sign up today.

DuVillage Le Triple Cream Cheese contest

DuVillage Le Triple Cream Cheese contest

There was also some information on other cheeses by DuVillage.

DuVillage Cheeses Promotion

DuVillage Cheeses Promotion

as well as a $0.75 off coupon for future cheese purchase.

DuVillage Cheese Coupon

DuVillage Cheese Coupon

That coupon will come in handy because I plan to buy some La Sauvagine after a sampling in a recent Cheese Appreciation class.

DuVillage has a good website at www.DuVillage1860.com. This cheese seems well distributed as I have seen it in several other local grocery stores.

I thought that DuVillage Le Triple Creme was very good! I recommend this cheese.

8 comments on “DuVillage Le Triple Creme Cheese

  1. MMMMM! I would love to try this cheese… I doubt it will ever make it’s way to KY though. Maybe I will pick some up if I ever make it to Canada.

  2. getspoked says:

    Triple creme is delectable. I can almost taste and smell the cheeses you write about. Your posts are always entertaining and encourage us to try new things. I just wish there was more variety of local cheeses in the markets. At least the options are increasing.

  3. I always liked so much your cheese reviews! It is a shame I’m still not able to come over to Canada to taste them all! In the meantime I wanted to give you a little award as Easter present. I know it is written in italian and almost impossible to understand, I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your passion of cheese as a fellow cheese lover!
    http://maritoallaparmigiana.com/2013/03/31/una-marea-di-premi-auguri-e-ringraziamenti/

  4. This cheese is made for the gods! Look how elegantly it’s wrapped. I wonder if it tastes as good as the ones in WI. Makes my mouth salivate even by the sight of it! Mmmmmmm….

  5. Josie McHale says:

    OMG! I wish we could get this here in San Francisco. Your write up on this triple cream cheese just sounds so yummy! I love triple cream cheese and I am always looking for a good one. Thanks for the blog!

  6. cheezplz says:

    Didn’t know about your blog when I started mine recently; I see we have the same template, too! 🙂

    But yours is dormant, where mine is currently active. 😉

Leave a comment