I Like Mature Cheese but this is Ridiculous

In my quest for cheese knowledge I was researching “Mature Cheese” when I discovered this archived news story.

1,400 year old cheese article

Normally, I would file such information away for future reference. However, this discovery put my head into a spin. I’ve had cheese go ugly in my refrigerator in just a few weeks. Evidently storing cheese in a bog is a much better method. Are you impressed by 3 year old cheddar? Be impressed no longer … because relative to a 1,400 year old cheese, three years is a blink of an eye.

The most fascinating concept about this story was that after pulling the cheese out of an ancient bog, carefully examining it, somebody actually decided to eat it. I am cheese adventurous but I have my limits.

credit: The news story is from the Sydney Morning Herald July 3, 1987.

2 comments on “I Like Mature Cheese but this is Ridiculous

  1. Caitlin says:

    Hahah that is crazy indeed! I’d be scared to eat that cheese, like it’d make me sick or something. Food archaeology, who knew it existed?!

  2. InsideTheEgg says:

    There is a part of me that really, really wants to try a nibble of that cheese.

Leave a comment