Caramelized Onion Compote vs Chutney

Caramelized Onion - Longo's Compote vs Loblaw's Chutney

Caramelized Onion - Longo's Compote vs Loblaw's Chutney

I am starting to experiment with cheese accompaniments. So far I have served cheese garnished with grapes, almonds or figs. These improve the presentation of my cheese as well as complimenting and enhancing the cheese tasting experience.

My wife and I both like caramelized onions. I bought a a jar of Caramelized Onion Compote for Cheese that I found at a local Longo’s Supermarket. Ironically my wife was shopping at Loblaws and she bought a jar of PC brand Caramlized Red Onion Chutney.

I prepared a holiday cheese board and we opened these two accompaniments to try with the cheese.

Holiday Cheese Board

My Holiday Cheese Board

What is the difference between compote and chutney?

They are both cooked fruit (or vegetable) condiments.

Compote – Fruit or vegetable cooked in syrup.

Chutney – Condiment made from fruit or vegetable, vinegar, sugar and spices with flavour ranging from mild to wild.

What does Longo’s Caramelized Onion Compote taste like? Not good. I did not like this. It wasn’t very sweet, it had an unpleasant muddy appearance, it had a strange after taste.

What does Loblaw’s Carmalized Red Onion Chutney taste like? Very nice, sweet onion flavour, not too strong, sugary and slightly vinegary with well balanced seasoning.

My wife, kids and inlaws also tried the two products. We unanimously preferred the Loblaw’s Red Onion Chutney hands down … no contest.

The winner is: Loblaw’s Caramelized Red Onion Chutney.

My holiday cheese board contained (nearest to furthest) Appenzellar, Blue Benedictine, Piave, Comfort Cream and sliced hot salami. The Loblaw’s Red Onion Chutney paired best with the Piave.

3 comments on “Caramelized Onion Compote vs Chutney

  1. rubysongbird says:

    This looks delicious!

  2. jerzak80 says:

    I made a Christmas chutney a month ago and unleashed it this week. It was tomato, aubergine, red & green peppers and onion with a variety of spices. It tasted great with ham and also with a mature cheddar we had. Chutney & cheese is excellent 🙂

  3. Pat says:

    Where did you get the board? Love the length !!

Leave a comment