Devil’s Rock Creamy Blue Cheese

My friend Liza emailed me today about an interesting cheese she read about in today’s Globe and Mail. Of course I had to check out the article.

Here is a quote from the article.

If velvety is a quality you look for in cheese rather than fabric, you need to add Devil’s Rock Creamy Blue Cheese to your shopping list. Thornloe Cheese, a dairy based in the northern Ontario town of Thornloe, created the recipe to be a higher-fat, smoother version of their more traditional-style Casey Blue. The goal was a blue that still had some bite, but with its sharpness cushioned in a rich, luxurious texture.

The article lists locations around the Greater Toronto Area which carry this cheese. I’ll be trying it soon and adding it to my growing list of cheese experiences.

via Cheese so smooth you’ll be humming Blue Velvet – The Globe and Mail.

Update: March 2, 2011

Devil's Rock Creamy Blue Cheese

I found the Devil’s Rock Creamy Blue Cheese at a local Longo’s supermarket. Longo’s had the cheese available as a whole brick or half brick. I tried the half brick.

How does Devil’s Rock Creamy Blue Cheese taste?

I have yet to meet a blue cheese I don’t like. I found the cheese very creamy, just as expected. But I found this cheese milder than I expected. Don’t misinterpret that comment … it was pleasantly mild. This is the first Canadian Blue Cheese that I have tried. Therefore, by default, it is the best Canadian Blue Cheese I’ve had so far.

But when compared to its international competitors such as Roaring Forties, Ovinsardo, Saint Agur or Roquefort my preference leans toward the stronger blues.

This cheese would be a good bet on a cheese board. The shape and black wax casing are visually interesting. I think it would be enjoyed by most people simply because it is creamy and mild. If that was Thornloe’s objective then they hit the mark.

One comment on “Devil’s Rock Creamy Blue Cheese

  1. David says:

    like a delicate cambazola…….extraordinary!
    Chef Dave

Leave a comment