Woolwich Dairy Triple Creme Goat Brie

My cheese adventure has led me to try Woolwich Dairy’s Triple Creme Goat Brie.

I like Brie. Double creme is good, triple creme is even better. However, until now, I have only tried cow’s milk Brie. I didn’t even realize there was such a thing as goat’s milk Brie.

I found this cheese at a local Loblaws supermarket. I must be a sucker for nice packaging. The little wooden box looked so classy that I figured there must be something very good inside.

Woolwich Dairy is a family owned, and operated, cheese company located in Orangeville, Ontario, Canada. Their website claims that they are Canada’s largest and leading goat cheese producer. They have a 40,000 SF manufacturing facility which, by my standards, is pretty darn big. They bring in milk daily from 200 local goat farmers. The cheese plant has a viewing gallery where visitors can see cheese being made. It sounds like a road trip with my kids is in the near future.

Because I am only familiar with cow’s milk Brie I wasn’t sure what to expect. In the past, I’ve had some goat cheeses that I enjoyed, and a few … well not so much.

When you take the cheese out of the wooden container it is wrapped in white paper, just like cow’s milk Brie. Upon removing the paper it looks and feels like cow’s milk Brie. I let it stand for an hour to come to room temperature. I’ve learned that cheese almost always tastes its best when at room temperature. When I cut into the cheese it looked like the cow’s milk Brie I was used to, only a bit firmer.

Upon tasting it, I could not help myself from comparing it to cow’s milk Brie. There was more similarity than difference. It was milder and different, but not in a bad way.

The tasting was a bit anticlimactic for me. I’m going to have to do some side by side tasting with another goat Brie, or a cow’s milk Brie to really figure this goat Brie thing out. I didn’t love it nor did I dislike it.

I’m stuck with indifference on this Goat’s Milk Brie for the time being.

4 comments on “Woolwich Dairy Triple Creme Goat Brie

  1. Kat says:

    I bought this to try Christmas Eve on my cheese board. Never had it before, so we’ll see! I was glad to read that someone else had tried it. Even if it’s mild, it’ll be a good introduction to very novice cheese eaters who probably would balk at the stronger goats to start.

    Merry Christmas!

    Kat

  2. For me, this goat Brie was the very best Brie I have ever had! Awesome! Softer, creamier and better than cow’s Brie.
    Dr. Mel J. Colón
    drs4drs@gmail.com
    678-522-2870

  3. Brann says:

    I love this Brie. Consistently creamier than cow milk Brie. But it has sadly disappeared from my central NJ markets.

  4. Debra says:

    So creamy and mild, one of the best!

Leave a comment